top of page

To the Rescue

Updated: Sep 8, 2020


My hairs a mess today

I dont want to go play

Its nappy

Thats all I can say

Going all directions

The pieces fly

The wrong way

Why is my hair

Like this anyway?

My mamas been gone

But I want her to stay.

I need help

Real bad today.

My friends all laugh

Its been a long day

I was in misery

Sad, alone and afraid

Until later that day

I heard a girl say,

"Sister girl

Im gonna help you today!"

So she got her hair supplies

And said,

"Hold your head high

Don't be afraid."

Then she got her Liv

Comb and edge control

And told me

To pick myself up and go

Then I saw a certain beauty

In me

Deep down in my soul,

I started to see

That I was unique

Special

And black

Thats me

People may bully

Put me down

And be mean

But I know

That I don't need them

To define me

I just need to see

That I am

Beautiful

And Black

Thats me

That day I was rescued

Now I am free

Because of a girl

Who wanted to rescue

Somebody

Like me


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page